Omanyala among 11 set for World Indoor Championships in Scotland

Athletics Kenya (AK) has on Thursday afternoon named a strong an 11-athlete team to fly the country’s flag at this year’s World Indoor Championships in Glasgow, Scotland. 

The pick of the team include Africa fastest man, Ferdinand Omanyala, who will be making his second appearance at the global championships after competing at the last edition in Belgrade, Serbia. 

Youngster Noah Kibet will be hoping to go one better than Belgrade where he clocked 1:46.35 to clinch silver in the men’s 800m. 

He will be flying the national flag in this one-lap race alongside Collins Kipruto who failed to make it to the final the last time round in Serbia. 

The team also include a number of youngsters who have shone at the junior level and will be looking to win their first medals at the senior rank. 

They include World Under 20 1500m champion Reynold Kipkorir, the 2021 World Under 20 1500m champion Vincent Keter and the 2021 World Under 20 3000m champion Teresia Gateri. 

Kenya will also be represented in the men’s 4x400m relay where Boniface Mweresa, Zablon Ekwam, Kelvin Sane and Wiseman Were will be exchanging batons on the way to a podium place. 

The team will be under the leadership of Athletics Kenya (AK) treasurer David Miano whereas Bernard Ouma will take charge of coaching. 

They depart the country on February 28 after over a fortnight of training.


  1. Fredinand Omanyala                 60m Men
  2. Noah Kibet                               800m Men
  3. Collins Kipruto                          800m Wen
  4. Vivian Chebet Kiprotich             800m Women
  5. Reynold Kipkorir Cheruiyot        1500m Men
  6. Vincent Kibet Keter                   1500m Men
  7. Teresiah Muthoni Gateri           3000m Women
  8. Beatrice Chepkoech 3000m Women
  9. Boniface Ontuga Mweresa        4x400m Relay Men
  10. Zablon Ekhal Ekwam                 4x400m Relay Men
  11. Kelvin Tauta Sane                      4x400m Relay Men
  12. Wiseman Were Mukhobe          4x400m Relay Men


  1. David Miano                 Team  Leader
  2. Benard Anyanga Ouma
  3. Alfred Kirwa Yego
  4. Josephine Nyarunda
  5. Stephen Ndungu

Athletics Kenya

Media and Communication

Leave a comment