World marathon record holder Kosgei makes final shortlist for World Athletics Awards

November 12, 2019

World marathon record holder Brigid Kosgei has made the final shortlist for 2019 Female World Athlete of the Year award.


Kosgei, who broke women’s marathon record on October 13, 2019 when she timed 2hrs, 14 minutes and 04 seconds to win the 2019 Chicago Marathon, has made the final shortlist of five athletes drawn from four Area associations of World Athletics (formerly International Association of Athletics Federations – IAAF), according to the global athletics body.


“The five athletes, who represent five countries from four Area associations, have illustrated excellence across nearly all athletics disciplines in 2019,” World Athletics said on Tuesday in a statement.


But women’s world 3,000m steeplechase champion Beatrice Chepkoech and World 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri from Kenya did not make the cut.


Kosgei made the shortlist alongside American 100 metres and 4x100m world champion Shelly-Anne Fraser-Price, Dutch Sifan Hassan who is the reigning world champion in women’s 5,000m and 10,000m, reigning 400m hurdles world champion and world record holder Delilah Muhammad of USA, and world triple jump champion Yulimar Rojas from Venezuela.


The 25-year-old Kosgei has had a successful period in road running this year, winning the London Marathon on April 28 in a time of 2:18:20. On that occasion, world marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge who has also made the shortlist for Male Athlete of the Year award won the men’s title.


Kosgei went on to retain the Chicago Marathon title which she had won in 2018. World Athletics (formerly International Association of Athletics Federations – IAAF) said the finalists were arrived at through a three-way voting process.


“The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family cast their votes by email, while fans voted online via our social media platforms. The Council’s vote counted for 50 percent of the result, while the Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes each counted for 25% of the final result,” World Athletics said on Tuesday in a statement.


Voting for the Female World Athlete of the Year closed on November 5, 2019, and the male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the 2019 World Athletics Awards in Monaco on November 23.


The finalists are:

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)
– won world 100m and 4x100m titles in world-leading times of 10.71 and 41.44
– won Pan-American 200m title
– won seven of her 10 races at 100m


Sifan Hassan (NED)
– won world 1500m and 10,000m titles in world-leading times of 3:51.95 and 30:17.62
– won Diamond League 1500m and 5000m titles
– broke world mile record with 4:12.33 in Monaco


Brigid Kosgei (KEN)
– set a world record of 2:14:04 to win the Chicago Marathon
– won the London Marathon
– ran a world-leading 1:05:28 for the half marathon and 1:04:28 on a downhill course


Dalilah Muhammad (USA)
– broke world record with 52.20 at the US Championships
– improved her own world record to win the world 400m hurdles title in 52.16
– won world 4x400m title


Yulimar Rojas (VEN)
– won world triple jump title with 15.37m
– jumped world-leading 15.41m to move to second on the world all-time list
– won nine of her 12 competitions, including the Pan-American Games



Athletics Kenya

Media & Communications