Jepkemei, Nyamongo rule x-country at Kapsokwony

December 15, 2018


Daisy Jepkemei extended her dominance on the local circuit, clocking 34:52.7 to win the senior women’s 10km during the third Athletics Kenya cross country meeting held yesterday at Kapsokwony High School ground in Mount Elgon.




Chepkemei was on fire from the gun and stuck with the leading pack before bolting off in the last kilometres.  Sheila Chelangat finished second in 35:25.0 while Beatrice Chepkemei completed the podium in 35:34.7.Alice Aprot (35:42.1), Irene Kimais (36:09.5) and Beatrice Begi  (37:908) followed in that order.




In an interview, Jepkemei said the event was part her preparations for the forthcoming national and world cross-country meetings respectively.




She said she is currently enjoying top form and hopes to make Team Kenya to the world cross-country. “ I started my training early and I am happy I am now reaping the fruits,” she noted.




In the senior men’s 10km race, Vincent Nyamongo ruled supreme, clocking 27:41.1 to beat Collins Korir (27:44.1) and Eliud Kipsang (27:49.8) to the second and third places respectively. Tony Kiplangat (27:54.7) and Musa Jipcho (27:56.3) completed the top five places.




The junior men’s 8km race saw Michael Kibet clock 24:22.8 to win the race. Charles Kakuri shook off a strong challenge from Gideon Kipngetich to place second in 24:32.1. Kipngetich was timed at 24:39.1 while Edwin Kiplangat was fourth in 24:49.0.




Winny Kimtai clocked 21:15.2 to win the junior women’s race. She was followed inn the second and third place by Emmaculate Chepkirui (21:16.8) and Monica Chirchir (21:21.0) respectively. Immaculate Anyango 21:28.2 completed the top four places.




Senior 10km women race


Daisy Jepkemei 34:52.7


Sheila Chelangat 35:25.0


Beatrice Chepkemei 35:34.7


Alice Aprot 35:42.1


Irene Kimais 36:09.5


Beatrice Begi  37::908.




 Senior men’s 10km race


Vincent Nyamong 27:41.1


Ciollins Korir 27:44.1


Eliud Kipsang 27:49.8


Tony Kiplangat 27:54.7


Musa Jipcho 27:56.3


Paul Korir  27:59.4



Junior men’s 8km race


Michael Kibet 24:22.8


Charles Kakuri 24:32.1


Gideon Kipngetich 24:39.1


Edwin Kiplangat 24:49.0


Bravine Kogen 24:53.3


Joel Kiplimo 24:59.0





Women’s 6km junior race


 Winny Kimtai 21:15.2


Emmaculate Chepkirui 21:16.8


Monica Chirchir 21:21.0


Immaculate Anyango 21:28.2


Josephine Chelangat 21:34.0


Flelixiana Kanda 21:37.0


 Athletics Kenya 

Media & Communications