• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


February 6, 2017

Upcoming Fredrick Moranga and Standard Chartered Nairobi Half Marathon Champion Betty Lempus are the winners of the


Moranga, who came to the limelight in 2015 after Winning Kisii 10 Km road race and clinching a gold medal during the Kenya Technical Training Institutes Sports Organization (KETTISO), overcame stiff challenges from a jammed field to win the inaugural race held in honour of the 2008 Olympic Champion Samuel Kamau Wanjiru,.


He won in 29:14.3 after breaking away from the pack on the 7th Kilometre mark while Safaricom Iten 10km victor Albert Kangogo finished second in 29:29.0.


“This is a good come back for me after recovery from an injury that has kept me out of competitions since 2015. I feel strong now and expect to do well this season,” said the Kisii-based runner who trains in Ngong.


Josphat Bett ascended to the podium third after clocking 29:39.5 with Joshua Kipkorir and Amos Mitei fining fourth and fifth in 29:42.4 and 29:50.6 during the race organized by Rosa Associates Limited.


In Women, Lempus easily triumphed against local girls who were favoured to win the race on home-ground advantage.


She finished in 33:56.4 while Joy Kemuma and Pauline Wangui took silver and bronze after completing in 34:08.4 and 34:17.1 in that order.


The race started on the Ol Kalou-Nyahururu highway and took the participants to the town’s Central Business District before ending at Nyahururu Stadium.


Nyahururu is another high altitude training hub in the country and has produced world-class champions like John Ngugi, Mary Wacera, Bedan Karoki, Veronica Nyaruai, the Late Joseph Kimani and the Late Samuel Wanjiru among others.


The Results of the top ten finishers:




1. Fredrick Morang’a 29:14.3


 2. Albert Kangogo 29:29.0


3.  Josephat Bett 29:39.5


4. Joshua Kipkorir 29:42.4


5.  Amos Mitei 29:50.6


6. Denis Kipkoskei 30:07.9


7. Mathew Kibet 30:10.5 8


8. Josephat Kipkemboi 30:12.3


9. Harun Ngunjiri 30:13.0


10. Stephen Kibomet 30:14.5.




1. Betty Lempus 33:56.4


2. Joy Kemuma 34:08.4


 3. Pauline Wangui 34:17.1


4. Ruth Chepng’etich 34:31.1


5. Miriam Wangari 34:41.9


6. Penina Kandie 34:48.6


7. Mary Njau 35:05.2


8. Pauline Iapan 35:14.4.


9. Monica Kanyata 35:28.2


10.Mary Wanjohi 35:36.0


Athletics Kenya

Media & Communications