• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


July 9, 2017

The final preparations for the 16th International Association of Athletics Federation’s World Championships intensify this week after Team Kenya assembles for training.


The national team of 48 athletes that was picked by Athletics Kenya two weeks ago reported in Nairobi on Sunday and will remain in residential training until July 30th before leaving the country to London ahead of the global competitions that will run from August 4th to 13th.


Athletics Kenya named the squad on Saturday 24th after two days of tantalizing national trial that ushered in the birth of new champions in several events.


As expected, reigning Olympics, World and Continental champions secured their slots in the team with less persuasion after winning in their respective events as new entrants made their maiden appearance in the national team.


David Rudisha (800m), Faith Chepng’etich (1,500m) and Conseslus (3,000m Steeplechase) returned to Team Kenya after their epic performance in Rio Olympics as well as during the 2015 World Championships in Beijing, China.


Ezekiel Kemboi, Asbel Kiprop, Hyvin Kiyeng and Rudisha found their way into the team courtesy of being the defending champions while Javelin super master Julius Yego set a new national record (87.97) to re-qualify for the August Championships.


World Cross-country champion Geoffrey Kamworor, World Half Marathon silver medalist Bedan Karoki and Olympic 10,000metres runners-up Paul Tanui have once again been tasked with the duties of stopping British Mo Farah in 10,000metres.


During the trials sponsored by mobile phone service provider Safaricom held at Nyayo Stadium, new talents proved their readiness to represent the country by upstaging experienced candidates with ease.


Cyrus Rutto and Davis Kiplagat excelled in men’s 5,000metres while Agnes Tirop, 21, the 2015 World Cross Country Champion, upset champions Irene Cheptai and Alice Aprot to top in the women 10,000metres and booked her ticket to the coveted championships .


In 800 and 1,500metres men, University student Emmanuel Korir and youthful Kipyegon Bett are automatically in the team while versatile Ronald Kwemoi and Timothy Cheruiyot are the new inclusions in 1,500m.


The team, under the tutorage of national head coach Julius Kirwa and former Sprinter Vincent Mumo will train for three weeks and leave for London where Kenya will be defending the overall title after unmatched performance in Beijing in 2015.




Men 400m Hurdles:

 1. Haron Koech

  2. Kiprono Kosgei

 3. Nicholas Bett


Women 10,000m:

 1. Agnes Tirop

 2. Irene Cheptai

 3. Alice Aprot


Men 200m:

 1. Mark Otieno


Women 5000m

1. Helen Obir

2. Margaret Chelimo


Men 5000m:

1. Cyrus Ruto

 2. David Kiplagat


Women 400m:

 1. Maximilla Imali


Men 400m:

 1. Raymond Kibet

  2. Alphas Kishioyan

 3. Collins Omae


Men Javelin:

 1. Julius Yego


Men 1500m:

 1. Ronald Kwemoi

 2. Timothy Cheruiyot

 3. Elijah Manangoi

 4.  Asbel Kiprop


Womens 1500m:

 1. Faith Chepn’getich

 2. Winnie Chebet


Womens 3000m steeplechase:

 1. Cellphine Chepsol

 2. Beatrice Chepkoech

 3. Purity Kirui

 4. Hyvin Kiyeng


Men 3,00m steeplechase:

 1. Conseslus Kipruto

 2. Birmin Kipruto

 3. Jairus Birech

 4. Ezekiel Kemboi


Women 800m:

 1. Margaret Nyairera

 2. Eunice Sum

 3. Emily Cherotich


Men 800m:

 1. Emmanuel Korir

 2. Kipyegon Bett

 3. Michael Saruni

 4. Ferguson Rotich

 5. David Rudisha


Triple jump

 1. Elijah Kimitei


 Men walk race

 1. Samuel Gathimba

 2. Simon Wachira


Women race walk

 1. Grace Wanjiru


Men Marathon

 1. Daniel Wanjiru

 2. Geoffrey Kirui

 3. Gideon Kipketer


Women’s marathon

  1. Edna Kiplagat

  2. Hela Kiprop

 3. Flomena Cheyech


Athletics Kenya

Media & Communications