• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


April 6, 2015

A team of more than 80 athletes would be camping in Nairobi from today ahead of the National Relays trials that will be take place at The Safaricom Stadium, Kasarani from 5:00pm this Friday April 10th.

The Trials, which have been boosted by the inclusion of relay teams from Uganda, Botswana, South Africa and Nigeria, will serve as selection for the 2nd International Association of Athletics Federations World Championship to be staged in Nassau, Bahamas on May 2nd and 3rd this year.


“We have picked a team of 80 athletes from the relay series. We shall be having two teams in each category during the trials on Friday. But we wanted the athletes to train in Nairobi for at least two days. They are arriving this afternoon and we will house them at the Milele hotel in South C,” said AK Chief Executive Officer Isaac Mwangi during the 2nd AK Track and Field Meeting in Thika over the weekend.


The two-hour relay programme, to be preceded by a horde of entertainment, is expected to light up the Stadium with stiff rivalry after Mobile phone Service provider Safaricom gave the event a shot in the arm with renewed sponsorship to Athletics Kenya of Sh120 million last Thursday.


When the trials kick off, fireworks will illuminate the newly introduced Medley Relays, where two-times World champion Asbel Kiprop will face a crop of budding upstart of Bernard Kipyego and others in the 800m segment.


In women, Joyce Zakary faces an uphill task to be ahead of Vivian Chelangat in the 400m as teams give their all for the limited tickets to Bahamas where the world will congregate for the second time.


In the sprints, the war will be between new entrants Brian Gatura, Mark Otieno, Michael Ngugi, Car lewiz and Peter Makuba in the 4 x100m while Alfas Kishoyan, Boniface Mwereza, Thomas Musembi, Alex Sampao and Joseph Pogisho will face the dressing down in the 4 x 400meres.




100 M MEN

1 Mark Otieno

2 Michael Ngugi

3 Brian Gatura

4 Peter Makuba

5 Carl Lewis

6 Simon Kimaru

7 Charles Wamwea

8 Gilbert Otieno


100m women

1 Diana Mutswenye

2 Monica Safania

3 Damaris Mbula

4 Diana Khaemba

5 Jentrix Nelima

6 Vera Rorey

7 Caroline Waiganjo

8 Nice Salantoi


200m Men

1 Michael Mokamba

2 Pius Muia

3 Ngaru Duncan

4 Geoffrey Kiprotich

5 Boniface Khagai

6 Stephen Baraza

7 Elisha Yego

8 Collins Omae


200m Women

1 Millicent Ndoro

2 Eunice Kadogo

3 Hellen Syombua

4 Fresha Mwangi

5 Damaris Imbongo

6 Mary Tanui

7 Joan Cherono

8 Jean Simiyu


400m Women

1 Jacinta Shikanda

2 Fransisca Koki

3 Emily Cherotich

4 Veronica Mutua

5 Catherine Nandi

6 Maureen Jelagat

7 Florence Wasike

8 Sandra Jepkoech


400m Men

1 Alfas Kishoyan

2 Boniface Mwereza

3 Alex Sampao

4 Michael Makan

5 Joseph Pogisho

6 Thomas Musembi

7 Raymond Kibet

8 Jared Momanyi



Abednego Chesebe

Nicholas Bett

Asbel Kiprop

Ronald Kwemoi

 Timothy Cheruiyot

Moses Kertich

Bernard Kipyegon

Bernard Katui



Selah Jepleting

Joyce Zakari

Sylvia Chesebe

 Virginia Nyambura

 Caroline Chepkemoi

 Vivian Chelangat

Penina Wangari

Beatrice Chepkoech


4x 800 M RELAY

Annet Mwanzi

Sheila Chesang

Eglay Nalianya

Sylvia Cherop

Purity Cherotich

Jacinta Wamwea

Miriam Chepkirui

Hilda Jepkemoi


4x 800 M RELAY MEN

Alfred Kipketer

 Nicholas Kiplangat

 Jeremiah Mutai

Timothy Kiptum

 Furguson Rotich

Jackson Kivuva

Jonathan Kitilit

Cornelius Kiplangat


International teams Invited




South Africa


By Joseph Ngure