• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


October 30, 2016

New Champions came to the fore as thousands of athletics enthusiasts jammed the streets during the 14th version of Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon on Sunday morning.


Living to the expected script, the annual contest unveiled new winners with untested Robert Kiplimo Kipkemboi and Jane Jelagat Seurei winning the pitiless energy draining 42.2Kilometres categories under the current sweltering Nairobi weather.


Kipkemboi, who trains in the nail-biting cold weather at Kapsait Training Camp at the border of West Pokot and Elgeyo Marakwet under marathoner Erick Kimaiyo, and Seurei from Nandi County, drafted 2:13.27 and 2:34.18 and pocketed Sh1.5 million each for their endurance.


Nevertheless, Kipkemboi and Seurei failed to lower the 2:13.25 and 2:29.32 course records set by Joshua Kipkorir and Elizabeth Rumokol in winning the 13th edition last year on the same circuit.


Mark Lokwanamoi and Hillary Kiplimo finished second and third and joined the winner on the men’s dais in 2:14.08 and 2:14.25 while Rachel Kosgei and Rose Maru chased Seurei for the top honours in 2:35.11 and 2:37.22, each taking home Sh650, 000 and Sh350, 000 correspondingly.


In the fervently competed 21.1Kilometres half-marathon, the script was replayed with less acknowledged Reuben Limaa from west Pokot County and Betty Lombus, also from the same region, ruling in the chase that had also enticed a number of dignitaries including United States Emissary Robert Cordec.


Limaa was awarded the victory amidst spirited argument occasioned by confusion when a full marathon competitor arrived earlier than expected only to be ruled out.


The victor timed 1:02.53 with Dominic Kipyegon and Kenneth Rotich, a son of retired marathoners Christopher Kandie and Judith Kiplimo, all Prisons Service officers, finishing third. The trio completed in 1:03.14 and 1:03.14 and got the top prizes of Sh150, 000, Sh100,000 and Sh50,000.


The women side was won by Lombus, clocking 1:12.26 followed by Ruth Chepng’etich in 1:14.13 and 2002 junior world cross-country silver medalist Penina Chepchumba who managed 1:15.13 for the share of Sh300,000 for the three of them.


Apart from the 42.2 and 21.1 categories, athletes also took part in other races that included 10kilometres for both men and women as well as 5kilometres family fun race. There were also wheel chair classes to include all the spectrum of the Kenyan society with Chief Guest being Nairobi County Governor Dr Evans Kidero.


Prize Winners


42.2Km (Men)

 1. Robert Kipkemboi 2:13.27 Ksh1.5 Million

2. Mark Lokwanamoi 2:14.08 (Ksh650, 000)

3. Hillary Kiplimo 2:14.25 (Ksh350.000)

4. Vincent Tanui 2:14.37 (Ksh150, 000)

5. Emmanuel Naibei 2:14.40 (Ksh100, 000)

6. Vincent Kiptoo 2:15.15 (Ksh50, 000)

7. Weldon Kirui 2:15.28 (Ksh40, 000)

8. Titus Kurgat 2:15.32 (Ksh30, 000)

9. Mathew Koech 2:15.39 (Ksh20, 000)

10. Samson Keiyo 2:15.44 (Ksh10, 000)


42.2 (Women)

 1. Jelagat Seurei 2:34.18 (Ksh1.5 Million)

2. Rachel Kosgei 2:35.11 (Ksh650, 000)

3. Rose Maru 2:37.22 (Ksh350, 000)

4. Shelmith Muriuki 2:38.18 (Ksh150, 000)

5. Emily Samoei 2:38.29 (Ksh100, 000)

6. Kallen Waithera 2:41.21 (Ksh50, 000)

7. Lucy Liavoga 2:49.54 (Ksh40, 000)

8. Eunice Kioko 2:53.59 (Ksh30, 000)

9. Naomi Nduta 2:54.05 (Ksh20, 000)

10. Sheila Mbaku 3:00.02 (Ksh10, 000)


21.1Km (Men)

1. Reuben Limaa 1:02.53 (Ksh150, 000)

2. Dominic Kipyegon 1:03.14 (Ksh100, 000)

3. Kenneth Rotich 1:03.27 (Ksh50, 000)


21.1K (Women)

1. Betty Lombus 1:12.26 (Ksh150, 000)

2. Ruth Chepng’etich 1:14.13 (Ksh100, 000)

3. Penina Chepchumba 1:15.13 (Ksh50, 000)


10Km (Men)

1. Gilbert Korir 29.28 (Ksh110, 000)

2. Stanley Kariuki 29.42 (Ksh60, 000)

3. Ezekiel Yego 30.08 (Ksh30, 000)


10Km (Women)

1. Faith Chepkoech 33.48 (Ksh110, 000)

2. Judy Cheroitich 34.39 (Ksh60, 000)

3. Ednah Koech 35.12 (Ksh30, 000)


Athletics Kenya

Media & Communication