• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


November 7, 2016

Kenya sustained her winning scripts after harvesting more than 10 medals during the World Masters Championships that ended on Sunday in Perth, Australia.


As it has been the national tradition, the country maintained her supremacy in long distant events with clean podium sweep in the men half marathon before the championships came to a conclusion.


Francis Komu, Paul Kibet Yego and Joshua Kipchumba won the all-important gold medals for Kenya after executing unparalleled performance in half marathon and in 10,000metres, jealously guarding the Kenyan tradition in these chosen events.


Komu propelled countrymen John Birgen and Philip Meto for a commanding 1-2-3 podium finish in 21Km M40 category, each clocking 1:11.06, 1:11.19 and 1:1126 for gold, silver and the bronze.


Almost similar performance was realized in the 10,000metres M50 class where Paul Yego led team mate Raymond Ben for gold and silver in 33:13.34 and 33:19.16 respectively.

In 10,000metres M45, Joshua Kipchumba trounced Argentina’s Troncoso and Patrick Kwist of Netherlands to win the third gold medal after finishing in 31:40.16. His opponents completed in 32:04.42 and 32:10.29 in that order.


John Sang, Stephen Kihara and Stephen Kamande clinched a silver medal each after finishing runners up in 21Kilometres M45, M55 and M60, crossing the finish line in 1:12.18.01, 1:15.14.48 and 1:27.38.13 in  their respective categories.

The bronze medals were won through Joseph Some Kosgei in 10,000metres M60 with the time 39:45.73 and Joshua Pondo in the Shot Put men M55 class. He managed a throw of


Although the country was fielding the team for the first time, the contingent managed to win a total of 11 medals- 3 Gold, 5 Silver and 3 Bronze, bringing additional glory with the Kenya’s trade-mark performance.


Gold Medal Winners:

1. Francis Komu 21Km M40

2. Paul Kibet Yego 10,000m M50

3. Joshua Kipchumba 10,000m M45


Silver Medalists

1. John Birgen 21Km M40

2. John Sang 21Km M45

3. Stephen Kihara 21Km M55

4. Stephen Kamande 21Km M60

5. Raymond Ben 10,000m M50


Bronze Medalists

1. Philip Meto 21Km M40

2. Joseph Some Kosgei 10,000m M60

3. Joshua Pondo Shot Put M55