Kipchoge the lone Kenyan in final shortlist for men’s IAAF award

November 10, 2019

World Marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge of Kenya has made the final list of five athletes who are in the running for 2019 Male World Athlete of The Year Award.


On Monday while releasing the list for the final five athletes left in the running for the award following conclusion of voting on November 4, the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) said:


“With just 12 days to go until the World Athletics Awards 2019, the names of the five finalists for the Male World Athlete of the Year 2019 have been confirmed. The five athletes, who represent four countries from three Area associations, have illustrated excellence across nearly all athletics disciplines in 2019.”


On October 12, Kipchoge, who is also the Olympics marathon champion, became the first man to run the marathon in under two hours when he timed 1:59:42 in a highly choreographed attempt dubbed ‘INEOS 1:59 CHALLENGE’ in Vienna.


The others in the five-man short-list are Ugandan world 10,000 metres champion Joshua Cheptegei, pole vault world champion Sam Kendricks (USA), 200m world champion Noah Lyles (USA) and Norwegian hurdler Karsten Warholm. But world 1,500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot of Kenya was eliminated through voting from the original list of 11.


A three-way voting process determined the finalists with the World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family casting their votes by email, while fans voted online via IAAF social media platforms, the statement said.


Athletics Kenya 

Media & Communications