• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


October 5, 2015

Burning desire to excel in athletics career overwhelmed experience when new faces dominated half marathons in Laikipia and Eldoret as runners turned up in huge number to compete



It was the drive to cut a notch in the road running that saw unheard before Michael Mutai from Nakuru and Sammy Kirui from Kaptagat downgrade skilled Hosea Macharinyang and Barnabas Kosgei in front of a multitude that kept urging the competitors from the sidelines.



At Laikipia University playing grounds, Mutai graduated with top honours after checking in first in the men’s 21kilometres that started at Karuga trading centre upward to Nyahururu town and ending on the college grounds, completing classically in 1hour and 1minute and 42 seconds to pocket Ksh200, 000 for triumph.



Macharinyang, with unmatched cross-country running mastery, accepted the second position after exhausting all his tricks in trying to domesticate the winner. He held the timer at 1hr 1minute and 57 seconds while Edwin Kiprop, another discovery road racer, finished third in 1hr and 2minutes.



“I had come here to win this race. I did not expect big challenge from the young runners but they deserve the success. I am not disappointed by finishing second behind Mutai. It was his race,” said Macharinyang, who has been in the national cross-country team for more that seven times.



In women, another not-so popular Jackline Chepng’eno dictated the proceedings as she led a strong lead pack of cross-country jackpot winner Gladys Chemweno and Dublin Marathon Champion Esther Wanjiru Machariah from start to finish.



The winner returned 1hour 11minutes and 48 seconds ahead of second-placed Chemweno who arrived in 1hr 12minutes and 44 seconds with Machariah, who is preparing to defend the Dublin crown towards the end of this month, clocking 1hr 13minutes and 39 seconds.



In Eldoret where spectators lined up the streets to catch the glimpse of the going-on, new product Sammy Kiru and this year’s Chemususu Dam half marathon second-placed Caroline Jepchirchir triumphed against strong rivalry.



In the absence of defending champions Mathew Kisorio and Peris Jepchirchir, Kirui took the decisive finishing speed after the 18kilometres to edge out favourite Geoffrey Kipyego and won in 1hr 2minutes and 41 seconds to have the Sh250, 000 chegue leaf bear his name.



Jepchirchir won the race, the 9th edition this year, after shaking off Betty Lembus and Sophy Jepchirchir. She took the deserved victory after doing the seven 3kilometres loop in 1hour 14minutes and 01 seconds while Lembus and Sophy timed 1hr 14minutes and 13 seconds and 1hr 14minutes and 29 seconds respectively.



In the 10 kilometres categories in Laikipai, Wilfred Kimitei, a professional training marksman for elite women athletes, won the men’s edition while seasoned marathon runner Beatrice Mutai top the women category.







  1. Michael Mutai 1:01.5


  1. Hosea Macharinyang 1:01.6


  1. Edwin Kiprop 1:02.0


  1. Philip Koech 1:02.1


  1. Jackson Limo 1:02.2


  1. Nicholas Kipkemboi 1:02.3


  1. David Kiplimo 1:02.4


  1. Robert Ndiwa 1:02.7


  1. Daniel Kiprotich 1:o3.1


  1. Josphat Kiptis 1:03.3




  1. Jackline Chepng’eno 1:11.5


  1. Gladys Chemweno 1:12.5


  1. Esther Machariah 1:13.4


  1. Lucy Liavoga 1:13.6


  1. Pauline Wangui 1:14.3


  1. Eunice Chebichii 1:15.1


  1. Naomi Chepng’etich 1:15.2


  1. Christine Chepkemei 1:15.4


  1. Sally Chemtai 1:16.3


  1. Pamela Jemeli 1:16.4






  1. Sammy Kirui 1:02.5


  1. Geoffrey Kipyego 1:03.1


  1. Robert Kipkorir 1:03.2


  1. Barnabas Kosgei 1:03.3


  1. Amos Kiplagat 1:03.4


  1. Elkana Arusei 1:03.5


  1. Willy Lukanyu 1:03.6


  1. Peter Chesang 1:03. 7


  1. Douglas Kimeli 1:03.9


Philip Kiprono 1:04.1




  1. Caroline Jepchirchir 1:14.01


  1. Betty Lembus 1:14.04


  1. Sophy Jepchirchir 1:14.21


  1. Rose Jepchumba 1:14.35


  1. Peris Jerono 1:14.44


  1. Janet Masai 1:15.01


  1. Agnes Jepkosgei 1:15.3


  1. Silvia Kibiego 1:15.4


  1. Sheila Cherotich 1:15.5


  1. Ruth Matebo 1:15.7


Laikipia 10Kilometres (Men)


  1. Wilfred Kimitei 29:24.0


  1. Josphat Bett 29:26.9


  1. Silas Laikong 29:28.3


  1. Albert Kangogo 29:31.2


  1. Bernard Kipkemoi 29:42.9


  1. Alfred Ng’eno 29:49.4


  1. John Langat 30:01.5


  1. Isaac Kipkoech 30:07.1


  1. Nicodemus Kipkurui 30:11.7


  1. Kenneth Keter 30:28.3




  1. Beatrice Mutai 34:30.8


  1. Valentine Kibii 35:36.4


  1. Ruth Chepng;etich 35:50.2


  1. Veronica Maina 35:56.2


  1. (Name Missing) 36:16.6


  1. Margaret Wangare 36:25.0


  1. Judy Cherotich 36:36.0


  1. Sheila Chepkirui 36:38.3


  1. Mary Wangui 36:47.9


  1. Lilian Chemweno 36:49.0


Athletics Kenya

Media and Communications