• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


December 5, 2015

Multiple World Champion Ezekiel Kemboi, 800metres World Record holder David Rudisha and flexible marathon runners Eliud Kipchoge, Mary  Keitany and Florence headline the list of nominees for this year’s Athletics Gala that is taking place on Thursday next week.


Kemboi, also a double Olympic champion will be facing 10 other athletes for the coveted Male of the Year Award that also feature twice World 1,500metres champion Asbel Kiprop and Javelin Thrower Julius Yego, famously Mr You tub.


Others in the mixed include 400metres hurdle sensation Nicholas Bett, Cross country big timer Geoffrey Kamworor and International Association of Athletics Federations Diamond League winner Jairu Birech.


Silver Medalist Caleb Mwangangi, cross country world silver medallist Bedan Karoki and Marathon great Eliud Kipchoge complete the nominees for the Male Award that will be held at Safari Park in Nairobi.


In the women assemble, World Cross country queen Agnes Chebet and Beijing 10,000metres World Champion Vivian Cheruiyot are angling for the top pride of the Female Athlete of the Year as well as 3,000metres steeplechase bride Hyvin Kiyeng.


1,500metres World silver winner Faith Chepngetich, World half-marathon record holder Florence Kiplagat, Chicago Marathon champion Mary Keitany, Berlin Champion Gladys Cherono  and Hela Kiprop are also in the arena as well as IAAF Daimond League leaders Eunice Sum and Virginia Nyambura.


Apart from the two main awards, Athletics Kenya will also reward illustrious performance in other categories that will include the Young Athlete of the Year, Sprint Athlete of the Year, Middle Distance Athlete, Long Distance Athlete, Field Athlete and the Cross Country Athlete of the year according to the list released by the Gala Local Organising Committee.


During the occasion, the federation will also be inducting a dozen of past athletics legends into the Athletics Kenya Hall of Fame.


Male Nominees;


David Rudisha (800m),


Ezekiel Kemboi (3000mS),


Asbel Kiprop (1500m),


Julius Yego (Javelin)


Nicholas Bett (400mH),


Geoffrey Kamworor (senior 12km),


 Jairus Birech (3,000mS/chase


 Caleb Mwangangi (5000m),


 Bedan Karoki (senior 12km),


Eliud Kipchoge (marathon)


Female Nominees


 Agnes Jebet (senior 8km),


Vivian Cheruiyot (10000m)


Hyvin Kiyeng (3000mS)


Faith Chepng’etich (1500m)


Helah Kirop (marathon).


 Mary Keitany (marathon),


 Florence Kiplagat (marathon),


Gladys Cherono (Marathon)


 Eunice Sum (800m)


Virginia Nyambura (3000mS)


Athletics Kenya

Media & Communications