• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


October 18, 2016

Kenya’s quartet of Eliud Kipchoge, David Rudisha, Consenslus Kipruto and Vivian Cheruiyot has been nominated for the IAAF World Athlete of the Year Award following their luminous performance this season.



The four garlanded athletes are among the 20 grand achievers this year after scintillating show during the Rio Olympics Games in Brazil last summer and other previous performances.



Voting for the Male and Female Athlete of the Year process starts this week where Kipchoge, Rudisha and Kipruto will be competing for votes against seven other men while Vivian would be seeking to maximize her points against nine nominees for the female award.



“The IAAF is pleased to confirm a list of 10 men and 10 women nominees who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the  IAAF,” read a communiqué from the IAAF secretariat in Monaco released on Tuesday.



The voting will see the number whittle down to the best three in each category according to the number of votes cast in their favour before the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco on Friday 2 December 2016.



Kipchoge, the marathon Olympic champion, Rudisha, who defended his 800metres Olympic title in Rio and Kipruto, with bragging rights of an Olympic title and Olympic record in the steeplechase, will wrestle it out with Jamaica’s sprint maestro Uasin Bolt and Mo Farah of Great Britain and five others for the Male Athlete of the Year.



Vivian Cheruiyot, who clinched gold and silver medals in 10,000 and 5,000metres respectively, is squaring it out with Almaz Ayana of Ethiopia, Caster Semenya from South Africa, Kenyan-turned Bahrain Ruth Jebet and seven others for the Female Athlete of the Year crown.



According to the rules, the IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms in the Council’s three-way voting process that will
determine the finalists. Voting closes on 1 November.



The nominees for 2016 World Athlete of the Year are:


Usain Bolt (JAM)
Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mo Farah (GBR)
Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)
Consenslus Kipruto (KEN)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
David Rudisha (KEN)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)


Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Ruth Beitia (ESP)
Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)
Kendra Harrison (USA)
Caterine Ibarguen (COL)
Ruth Jebet (BRN)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Elaine Thompson (JAM)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)



Athletics Kenya

Media & Communications