• Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui wins the men's marathon athletics event at the 2017 IAAF World Championships London 2017


May 22, 2017

The cut-down to International Association of Athletics Federation World Championships getting to the top gear, Athletics Kenya has finally unveiled the marathon team for the biannual event that will start on 4th of August.


The team, selected after wide consultation, prides in the inclusion of two-time World Champion Ednah Kiplagat and Boston and London champions Geoffrey Kirui and Daniel Wanjiru.


Also making the new team is Mumbai marathon champion Gideon Kipketer while Paris marathon champion Paul Lunyangata has been included as a reserve during the unveiling ceremony at Riadha House this week.


As it is the norm, the selectors had a herculean task in picking the best from the best following phenomenal performance by elite marathoners in big city Road Races during the last five months that saw the Kenyans not only maintaining their dominancy but setting new records.


While unveiling the team, Athletics Kenya officials said the selection was done with consideration of individual athlete performance in selected marathons and after consultations with coaches and other stakeholders.


“The performance of those selected leaves no doubt that they are the best for the World championship. They have all confirmed and we can now proceed with making arrangement for their training and other related logistics,” said Athletics Kenya President Jack Tuwei.


2016 Tokyo marathon champion Helah Jelagat Kiprop and Glascow Commonwealth Games Champion Flomena Cheyech Daniel complete the women marathon team while Paris Marathon winner Purity Rionoripo and Valentine Kipketer are the reserves.


A week ago, Athletics Kenya listed names of provisional team that included Olympic champion Eliud Kipchoge and the New Marathon record holder Mary Keitany but the duo opted out of the August challenge in order to recover.


Keitany set a new Marathon world record during Virgin Money London Marathon on April 23rd while Kipchoge chalked a historic 2:00.25 in his attempt to break the Under2hr barrier.


The selected team will go into residential training in Kaptagat from June 4th under selected marathon coaches.

Marathon Team


1. Geoffrey Kipkorir Kirui

2. Daniel Kinyua Wanjiru

3. Gideon Kipketer

4. Paul Lunyangata (Reserve)


1. Ednah Ngeringwony Kiplagat

2. Helah Kiprop

3. Flomena Cheyech Daniel

4. Purity Rionoripo (Reserve)

5. Valentine Kipketer (Reserve)


Athletics Kenya 

Media & Communications