Athletics Kenya is ran by  Lt. Gen (Rtd) Jackson Tuwei , as the President, who is elected by the members.  The list of chairpersons since the start of AK/KAAA are;


1.       Derek Erskine 1950–1964

2.       Musembi Mbathi 1964–1968

3.       Bartonjo Rotich 1968–1972

4.       Charles Mukora 1972–1974

5.       Sam Ongeri 1974–1984

6.       Paul Boit 1984–1992

7.       Isaiah Kiplagat 1992- 2015

8.       Lt. Gen (Rtd) Jackson Tuwei 2015- to date


AK is managed by the Executive comettee which is composed of the following;


1.       Lt. Gen (Rtd) Jackson Tuwei, President.

2.       Mr. Paul M. Mutwii , Senior Vice president, Director of Competitions.

3.       Jinaro Kibet, Vice president

4.       Ms. Fatma Awale, Vice president, In charge of women affairs

5.       Mr. David Miano, Hon Treasure

6.       Mr. Dimmy Kisalu Hon Asst Treasure

7.       Ms. Susan Kamau, Ag. Chief Executive officer

8.       Mr. Evans Bosire, Public Relations Officer

9.       Mr. Barnaba Korir, Chair Youth Development Programs

10.   Mr. Benjamin Njoga, Member

11.   Ms. Elizabeth Keitany, Member

12.   Mr. Ibrahim Hussein, Co-opted Member

13.   Mr. Johnson Ikiugu, Co-opted Member

14.   Mr. Michael Rotich, Co-opted Member

15.   Ms. Jacinter Wesong, Co-opted Member

16.   Col. Robert Kutur, Co-opted Member

17.   Mr. John Kimetto, Co-opted Member.